Chameleons: Part 1 – Is All As It Seems?

Have you ever had the experience of looking someone in the eye, just after discovering you did not truly know him?  Everything you experienced, believed, or saw in the past was based on a lie?

I have. It happened when I learned the young man I had dated three and a half years and was planning to marry, had a secret life: it included other women. I remember a profound sense of loss.  I had lost my best friend, the one whom I trusted more than any other person on the planet, and my future husband.

And yet, at the same time I recall a profound sense of security.  It was then that the idea came to me, “if you can trust yourself, you can once again trust another.” In other words, if I truly believed that I would not betray a man in this way, then there must be a man in which I could place my trust. I now realize that this is not sound doctrine, because ‘we all fall short’…However, as I have grown in the wisdom of the Lord through studying the Word, I have become even more confident that my happiness and fulfillment do not depend on the actions of others. After all, even I disappoint me, on occasion.  It was really my trust in God that pulled me through this very painful, tumultuous time of betrayal and breach of trust.

Some time later God, in his mercy and goodness, was to give me the perfect man to be my husband and father of my children.

Has your world been rocked by someone else who may not be who they said they were? A cheating husband? A child who by all appearances was straight-laced, but has been busted for breaking the law? A lying, ‘get to the top at all costs’ co-worker? Or perhaps you world was rocked by the Boston Marathon bombings and you are doubting God. 

Find your unchanging rock in the Word of God now.

Study the story of Joseph in Genesis 37-45.

You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives. – Said by Joseph in the Book of Genesis 50:20 NIV

Mediate on these promises:

“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” Deuteronomy 31:8 NIV

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord,” Jeremiah 29:11-13 NIV

“You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.” 1 John 4:4 NIV

 A prayer for you:

Lord, in our hurt, help us to meet you there.  Give us your power to trust in You and to be trustworthy.  Let us not be swayed by emotion or circumstance, but let us stand firm on the power of Your Word. We ask that you help us to relinquish our pride and to allow you to be strong in our weakness [2 Corinthians 12:9]. Amen.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 657 other followers

