Chameleons – Are You Who You Say You Are?

“Who you are shouts so loudly that I cannot hear what you say.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

Part I is found here.

Part II

God began to reveal to me that I was not always who and what I portrayed.  I was such a people pleaser that I had a tendency to be a chameleon. I would act a little rougher around the rough crowd and a little more delicate around my more righteous friends.   This constant compromising left me feeling uneasy and feeling guilty for not being true to my friend or me.

Are you who you say you are? Sometimes, we are like chameleons trying to change our outer appearances to match others, leaving us on shaky ground. God never changes, He does what He says.  He always was and He always will be True to His Word.  He can change our inside to stabilize our outside.

If you are in a season where you feel like a chameleon, will you consider picking up the Holy Bible today?  Open to the book of John, it is the fourth book in the New Testament. There you will meet the One God who truly is who He says He is and does what He says He will do.

Because of my first hand experiences with Christ, I now have full confidence that I can trust God to steady me to live a life of integrity: where my colors do not change with the circumstance or character around me, but remain the same brilliant hue.

Mediate on these promises:

“Seek me and you will find me, when you seek me with all of your heart.” Jeremiah 29:13

“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.” Deuteronomy 31:8 NIV

“And now, Israel, what does the Lord your God require of you, but to fear the Lord your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul, and to keep the commandments and statutes of the Lord, which I am commanding you today for your good?” Deuteronomy 10:12-13 ESV

Then we will no longer be immature like children. We won’t be tossed and blown about by every wind of new teaching. We will not be influenced when people try to trick us with lies so clever they sound like the truth. Ephesians 4:14 NLT

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 657 other followers

