Lost Treasure Leads to Deep Intrinsic Reward

Globe-Wernicke Company D-8 Bookcases (4 stacked) – looked to be 1800s or early 1900s. White, appear to have been used for plants, quite dirty, in otherwise good shape for the apparent age. All original manufacturer tags in tact at rear of bookcase.  At the time, I couldn’t make out what the function of this odd piece of old furniture was at Goodwill the morning of April 1, 2013.

Had a feeling it was worth well over the $19.99 price tag.  Started a google search, however, I had this strong internal push to leave and to trust that if it was meant for me I would come back and find it there.

I went home and dug straight into cleaning and organizing what ended up being an exceptionally messy morning due to Easter and a quick packing trip for the boys to go north skiing for 3 days.

After 2 hours I recalled my intention to google G-W and found that yes, indeed, the items was quite valuable up $1200!  Jumped in the car and returned to an empty space where it had sat hours before.  Momentary disappointment turned to praise!  ‘Yes, Lord, you knew that it was not good for me to have that item at this time!  It would have cluttered my recently uncluttered space; it would have been a physical and emotional WEIGHT because I would have TOO many other projects to finish before I would ever have time to get to cleaning the item up and figuring out what next to do with it.’  It would sit and clutter my mind and cause a physical and emotional drain on my body — like I had done so many times before. You see, the Lord has been healing me of getting in over my head by taking on too many desired projects and giving out a few too many, “yes, sure I can” phrases.  God is continuing to teach and enable me to walk in His will step by step.  Trusting that he will lead and provide.  There is such freedom living in this way, bringing me such joy.

I am delighting in the order I have  in my physical and mental space!  Hoping that just the right person found this treasure and will truly enjoy it or perhaps benefit from the profit.  I also have the hope of one day finding an even better treasure, at the perfect time, when it will be a glistening addition rather than a withering weight! 🙂

Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path. Psalm 119:105 NLT

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. Galatians 5:1 NIV

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 655 other followers

