What Measure Are You Using? The One You’d Like for You?

Crying Boy

Photo Credit: Cry by George Hodan

It starts when we are really young.  We want the toy the other kid has, so we take it.  He takes it back and what happens?  You think, “Hey, that’s not fair, that is MY toy! WWHHaaaaaa!!!! 

The sliding ruler of fairness begins.  It is fair when it works for my benefit, but it is not fair when it works better for you!  As we mature, we grow out of stealing toys, at least blatantly for others to witness.  However, deep in our thought life, what measures are we using to judge others: words, actions, decisions, inaction, etc.?  Am I using the same measure I want to be used against me? No, not always. 😦 Is yours the same measure you want to be used against you?

In the Fifth Discipline by Peter Senge, I believe in the chapter on Personal Mastery (it’s been many years since I read the book so I am stretching my memory) he writes of the “mirror concept”.  My understanding of his metaphor is that the flaws of others that rub us the wrong way; are like a mirror that reflect back to us what we do not like within ourself.

The New Testament says, “How can you think of saying to your friend, ‘Let me help you get rid of that speck in your eye,’ when you can’t see past the log in your own eye?” Matthew 7:4 NLT

And Jesus says, “For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” Matthew 7:2 NIV

 The Radiant Learning blog is about growing in a positive way.  Let us decide together today to keep ourselves in check.  When you find yourself thinking about another person in a critical way, ask yourself:  Is this the measure I want him/her to use against me?  I shall do the same. If it is not, let us chose to extend grace.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 656 other followers

