What is the Narrow Path?

“Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” Matthew 7:13-14 NIV

Growing up I recall hearing more than once, “Well, if everyone were jumping off a bridge would you do it too?” In response to my whining, “everyone else gets to do it!”  The “it”, of course, was something that I really wanted to do that my parents deemed was not in my best interest.  It was painful at the time to let go of something that I wanted. Now as an adult, I am so eternally grateful to my parents for loving me enough to keep me on a narrow path.  I did not get to watch what ‘everyone’ was watching on TV, because those programs had messages and examples that were not going to help me to make wise choices, rather they would have put temptation into my mind.

In my brain training seminars I conduct an exercise designed to show how uniquely each person (or each brain) thinks.  And yet the participants set out from the beginning in a competition to think alike, it is uncanny how the results consistently show we think differently and how each group strives to prove this wrong.  Why?  I believe it is a comfort to be around people who are like us.  If this is true, we should heed God’s counsel: Do not be deceived: “Bad company ruins good morals.” 1 Corinthians 15:33 ESV

When I flip through the TV channels today, I am appalled about what is allowed on TV and even into my home.  It is still shocking to me.  I can only assess that I am notlike everyone else” because these shows would not be aired if many of people were choosing to turn the TV off!  Raunchy TV shows filled with pre and extramarital sex, drugs, pleasure-seeking, and violence against women and children are part of the wide path.

This post is not about TV, though I have used it as a simple example to show how we make choices for or against the narrow path; in real-time.

So what is the narrow path?  Put simply: The narrow path is making choices in agreement with the Word of God.

The narrow path is not what makes me happy; just ‘feels’ right; or what everyone else is doing.  In fact, if most people are doing it, it is cause to evaluate whether or not it aligns with the Word of God.

So while my intent is to challenge you to make wise choices based upon what God directs through the Word of God (the narrow gate), I caution you not to do it without God’s help!

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
and do not lean on your own understanding.
In all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make straight your paths. Proverbs 3:5-6 ESV

The narrow path often is lonely; is usually met with resistance; yet the narrow path is the most rewarding place.

In the paths of the wicked are snares and pitfalls, but those who would preserve their life stay far from them. Proverbs 22:5 NIV

 For everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith.
1 John 5:4 ESV

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 657 other followers

