What I Learned About Living From Death

“For God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life.” John 3:16 New Living Translation

This was a very tough week for my small community.  One far too young passed from this earth into eternity. You always hope when you learn of a death that they were secure in their future.  We only know if we walk with the person regularly and share our hearts mutually.  I believe it is possible to keep the light hidden, surely that is why the children’s song was written:  “This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine….”  Some will argue with me, but I believe there is a choice to shine or to be dull.  To hide the light is likened to, “only as one escaping through the flames.” (1 Corinthians 3:15).

Gratefully, the boy’s father shared his testimony of receiving Christ.  Perhaps this is the only comfort a family can have during such a painful sorrowful time.  And there is hope in knowing that one day you will be united again to the one you lost.  It is bewildering to the world that Christians both mourn and celebrate a death.  There is no getting around the sadness of the loss, but there is also a hope and a joy in knowing that as the days pass we will be united for eternity.  And there is a joy in knowing that the person we love is in the only PERFECT place: with Christ – where there is no suffering and only good.

These are the lessons I learned:

  • Reuniting with childhood friends, confirmed the love and special part of my heart each one still has decades later: The relationships we have in youth, forge and form us
  • Differences are like sandpaper, helping us to refine our raw edges and appreciate what we can learn even when stand opposite in viewpoints
  • Now that I am older I don’t feel the need to compromise my beliefs, as I did as a child when I wanted everyone to like me (at all cost)
  • Standing firm in belief is a blessing to others….who wants a friendship based on shifting sand?
  • Immediately I saw the same beauty in my childhood friends that first drew me to them
  • Life is short, speak the Truth and share the Light – you never know if it will be your last opportunity.
  • If you firmly believe in eternity, you are only a good friend if you share it
  • Love is the best gift for those grieving: there are no words that can take the pain away
  • Embrace and interact with those you love as though it is your last day, you will have no regrets
  • Look for the good things God is doing (Romans 8:28) and your strength and hope will be renewed in the midst of grief

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.  John 1:1-4 New International Version (I added emphasis = bold)

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”  John 14:6 ESV

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 656 other followers

