Monday Musing: Making the Most of Your Child’s Learning Style

Monday Musings for Learning Styles

Ever find yourself completely exasperated after having just explained to your child for the fifth time to pick up his socks or to do her homework?  Did you ever consider that it may not be his/her fault completely?  I know, you may not want to hear this in the heat of the moment! I have been there too.  However, when I give an honest review of what took place, I can find the root of the problem and even better — a solution to the problem!

I have a tendency to give auditory commands, in fact more than one direction in one sitting.  This has proven to be overwhelming to my boys, who tell me it is better for them (and therefore me) to have one direction at a time so they don’t feel so overwhelmed.  I know that when I personally feel ‘overwhelmed’ about anything, I do NOT want to even begin the task.

I have learned, the hard way, when giving directions that I must take into consideration the way my child needs to hear, see, or experience information.  And a wonderful resource for me and for you is the book: Every Child Can Succeed: Making the Mos of Your Child’s Learning Style by Cynthia Ulrich Tobias.

Among many great suggestions and concrete examples to help you determine learning styles and navigate the learning and directing for your child, she also gives an Excuse Chart (page 33).  This chart is designed to help you move your child from excuses to accountability.

I am learning to write directions, one at a time, on separate pieces of paper for my guys.  This has taken the stress out of our interactions, and seems to keep the explosions to a minimum.  And for one of my guys, I must be sure he is not engaged in any other activity at the time we interact, because if he is, he surely will NOT remember anything mom said or did at the time!

My prayer for you is that you and your child will come to have positive interactions; and that you will have the tools to both see and operate in the mode in which your child can succeed!

The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart. 1 Samuel 16:7b NIV

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 657 other followers

