Marriage Minutes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOcean City Sunrise and Washington DC 2013 026 Ocean City Sunrise and Washington DC 2013 011 Ocean City Sunrise and Washington DC 2013 214 Ocean City Sunrise and Washington DC 2013 128 Ocean City Sunrise and Washington DC 2013 165Ocean City Sunrise and Washington DC 2013 186

Marriage Minutes

This week my husband and I are celebrating 24 years of marriage and 26 years of being in love.  So he swept me off my feet, literally, into the air and off to Washington, DC.  I pictured strolling the Mall and studying historic monuments, after all, what else do you go to Washington to do?  And WHY did I assume that my husband would be on the same page?  Especially when we rarely think in the same way.  However, I just assumed in this case like I mentioned who would go to Washington and NOT see the infamous memorials – you know – The Lincoln Memorial, WWII Memorial, the White House and so on.

That who – is named Paul.  Right.  Paul goes to Washington to rent a car and drive hours to the south east to ‘hang out on the beach’.  Yes, it IS the end of October in North America on the Atlantic Ocean.

I smile and say, ‘let’s go’.  You see, my husband has pushed me beyond my comfort zone and out of the box I would remain in, many, many times in our marriage.  And nearly every time, I am delighted and he doesn’t disappoint.  He loves to explore and take chances.  I love to plan and be more conservative with risks.  Really we are a good match.  Thankfully, we have learned to work together on our communication and lay out expectations in a reasonable manner and to respect the desires of the other (usually :-).  So I am typing from a little rental car on Highway 50 heading East toward the Atlantic Ocean on October 19 enjoying the beauty of the fall colors on the deciduous trees and anticipating a gorgeous drive along the lake shore when the highway bends south.  We have no idea where we will hang our heads tonight, but I have no doubts my husband will do his sweet talking best to get us a nice place at just the right price.

We will take our time minute by minute for the duration of our trip.  I will see things I never imagined; I will cling to every minute with my handsome stallion.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 654 other followers

