Secrets

When I was a little girl, girls told secrets. “Don’t tell Debbie.”  And Debbie would say, “Don’t tell Renee!”  Oh the dilemma, both girls were my friends and I knew the very fact that I knew something that I did not share with one of my friends would cause hurt feelings to the one in the dark.  I felt like a betrayer no matter what I chose to do because if I did not tell I was hurting the one, if I did tell I was betraying the other.  Secrets have a way of becoming a messy, tangled mess among friends.

Do you ever feel that way?  Do you have knowledge that would help someone but for some reason there is something keeping you from sharing what you know?  How does it make you feel?  What is holding you back from sharing?  If you do share the information, what are the consequences: positive and negative?

Life is a series of choices.  Like the hallway in this picture, there are several pathways you could take, but if you take the wrong path you may end up lost or in a place you did not want to be.  The best approach is to have a map of the halls before you begin your journey that way you can make informed decisions on your turns.  The same is true with the choice of what you communicate.  It is important to have discernment when it comes to sharing or withholding important information.

A gossip goes around telling secrets, so don’t hang around with chatterers. Proverbs 20:19 NLT

Whoever goes about slandering reveals secrets, but he who is trustworthy in spirit keeps a thing covered. Proverbs 11:13 ESV

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 657 other followers

