Focus for Faster Finish

This is the Day the LORD has made.

This is the Day the LORD has made.

Consider this: as the eyes of a servant focus on what his master provides, and as the eyes of a female servant focus on what her mistress provides, so our eyes focus on the LORD our God, until he has mercy on us. Psalm 123:2

We focus our binoculars to see the brilliant details, missed with the unfocused eye.  The lens allows us to experience the pleasure of seeing the crisp colorful lines of a bird  perched on a branch, or the bouncing white tails of the deer dashing across the field to the shelter of the trees.

We focus our eyes and we focus our attention on details that we cannot appreciate when we look at the whole.  Focus is my theme for the new year.  I have an ultimate goal 0f improved time management, so the word ‘focus’ is keeping me on track.

Kind of like your eyes track better with a guide, my goals track better with a guide. Another comparison is lines on the track that keep the runners within boundaries and aimed in the right direction.  These lines give the athletes a better chance to succeed at their goal of crossing the finish line fastest.  As the runner focuses her eye on the lines she is able to free up her mind from all distractions that are outside those lines.  The crowds, the noise, the clouds, or the sun – none of these factors outside the boundary lines can distract her from her focus of staying between the lines straight to the fast finish.  That is, as long as her focus remains on the lines, when her eyes leave the lines she is tempted to get off track.

I want some lines to work within, some boundaries to help me stay on course.  Using time management as a goal, the lines are set around the tasks that fuel my life priorities and the tasks that are left outside the lines are the ones that are not necessary because they take me “off” track.

The main boundaries I choose are constant: I look to the Lord as my guide and He does not change.  However, my daily focus changes depending on the vision for the dawning of each new day.

No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us. Philippians 3:13-14 NLT

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 657 other followers

