Wise-up Wednesday: Brain Boosting Herbs & Spices

image

According to The Anti-Alzheimer’s Prescription by Dr. Vincent Fortanasce, supported by other research I have read, we should regularly consume garlic and curcumin for the reasons stated below.

Garlic – an antioxidant, is anti-atherosclerotic and can potentially help against stroke and Alzheimer’s disease.  garlic has been found to lower blod pressure, protect blood vessels, and prevent plaque buildup in arteries, an important factor in preventing heart disease and stroke.  Some new findings indicate that garlic is also neuroprotective, supporting both memory and new learning.

Curcumin – an antioxidant and component of the spice turmeric, has been shown to reduce oxidative damage and decrease beta-amyloid peptides in the brain by 43 to 50 percent.  Studies show that elderly villagers in India who eat turmeric with every meal have the lowest rate of Alzheimers disease in the world.

I have found it easy to add garlic to my diet regularly because I love it and my kids do also.  I believe it was helpful to begin cooking with garlic when they were young.  They come home and smell the garlic and can’t wait for dinner!  I have not been so successful incorporating Tumeric daily or weekly because we didn’t start using it until my boys were teens and they do not prefer this distinct flavor.

Another helpful antioxidant is cinnamon.  I add this daily to my black coffee.

I would love for you to share any tasty tumeric recipes you have tried.  I add it to my scrambled eggs in the morning. Here is a recipe from the book listed above:

Tumeric Tuna Salad

3/4 C tuna fish, packed in water
1 1/2 tsp light mayo
1 tsp mustard
1 T fresh lemon juice
1 tsp tumeric
2 T chopped red onion
2 T chopped celery
Ground fresh pepper to taste

In a small mixing bowl, mix all ingredients. Place over greens or on whole wheat toast.

Now that you have all these brain boosting ideas:  I hope that you are powerfully productive this month!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Hennesey
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 15:46:24

    Great words!! Love the ideas. I knew about the tumeric but laughed at the avacado deal….cause I was trying to find a way to rationalize my desire to eat one every time I have them in a bowl ripening on the counter. YUM…. Thanx Kim.

    Reply

    • kimkcsonshine
      Mar 01, 2014 @ 09:17:27

      I am happy to give you justification for your avocado fix, Cindy! Plenty of healthy reasons to indulge in moderation, of course. 🙂 A sprinkle of Tumeric would probably be a good addition to a salad with avocado slices. Enjoy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 656 other followers

