Wise-up Wednesday: The Best Learning Comes from Teaching

Kim Teaching RL for Women

One to one teaching is just as powerful as classroom teaching for the learner. Make it memorable by making it fun!

Stephen Covey suggests in the Seven Habits of Highly Effective People that the best learners are those who plan to teach the material they are learning.

Based on the brain’s memory process, it is best to teach the new material within 24 hours.  This provides a solid review and deeper understanding of the new data.  Prompting your brain to be prepared to share new data puts it on notice to pay attention and retain details.

When you verbally share the information you give your brain a memory review, which promotes long term retention.

Teaching the material can be as simple as sitting on the couch before the news begins to share what you learned with your spouse or teen.  Perhaps you have a friend who shares an interest in the subject; meet her at a coffee shop and share what you learned.

 Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember.  Involve me and I learn. – Benjamin Franklin

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/b/benjaminfr383997.html#rwQI4zcqy5yoQM8X.99

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 657 other followers

