Learning from Mom

image

There’s no way to be a perfect mother and a million ways to be a good one. Jill Churchill

Moms are the first person we experience as our bodies grow to life inside the womb.

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. Psalm 139:13 NIV

Moms are a significant role model in our impressionable young lives.  The model I was given remains an excellent example of Motherhood. A few great lessons I learned from my Mom:

Be a good listener

Always put yourself in the other’s shoes [empathy]

Be kind

Be courteous

Be gentle

Work hard

Have fun

Use discretion when speaking and acting

Take care of your belongings: put them in the proper place and keep from damage

Take good care of your body

Pick up after yourself

Be nice to animals

Fix things that are broken – don’t just run out and replace an item

Spend money wisely

Invest time in those you love

Invest and save your money

Self discipline

Commitments are important: keep them!

Marriage is worth the work [53 years and going]

LOVE

Mom has shown me all of this and so much more, but the greatest example is her unconditional love for each of her three daughters.  Never did I ever sense that she showed partiality for any one of us.  If she did in her heart, she covered it excellently.  We each continue to feel very special and loved immensely by our mom.  She is the most considerate, empathic, thoughtful person I know.  I am so grateful to call her Mom!

I realize that sometimes we learn the hard way what NOT to do.  I have some incredible friends and associates who had abusive moms during their formative years.  In spite of their circumstances, these women have been able to overcome the pattern of motherhood that was set before them to become responsible, loving, tender-hearted moms!  Kudos to you from the bottom of my heart.  It is not easy to overcome negative patterns, but it can be done and these women are proof that with the power of Christ:  Anything is possible.

What have you learned from your mom?  Perhaps you can make a list and share it with her, or if she is no longer living will you share it with your children or grandchildren?  If there were negative influences, word them in the positive to be respectful.  For example if you learned not to become a drunk, you may choose to say, “I learned to abstain from drinking” or “to be in the best mental condition in case you needed my attention” or something to that effect.  If you were verbally abused: “I learned to use positive words” or “I learned not to say anything at all, if I couldn’t think of something good to say.”

We are all a work in progress.  I hope we all choose to extend grace and gratitude, this Mothers Day week, to the mothers all around us.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 655 other followers

