Priorities Check List

“When you do what you have always done, you get what you have always gotten.” – Unknown

Sometimes, we just get in the rut of doing things the way we have always done them. A routine. What is it that you are routinely doing that perhaps you may change or purge altogether in exchange for something more productive?

In order to keep balance in my life and so as not to frustrate my husband 🙂  I find it helpful to evaluate all my ‘so called’ priorities with these simple questions:

WHY am I doing ______?

WHO benefits?  WHO is suffering from a lack of my time/focus because of this task?

Is it WORTH it? To me? To the benefactor?

WHEN can I do it? i.e., are there alternative times in the event another priority takes precedence?

WHAT else suffers or could be getting done?

FINALLY, is it time to

  • (A) Cut back
  • (B) End altogether
  • (C) Find a partner or other 3rd alternative?

“The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Theresa Smith
    May 30, 2014 @ 10:24:19

    Nice topic. How easy it is to unintentially move away from what is important to its counterpart. You have me contemplating the value, or lack thereof, of my priorities and my time and energy wasters. I think I’m ready for a little introspection and change. Thank you, Kim. I appreciate your timing as I launch into a season where important things can become less so if I don’t pay attention.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 657 other followers

