Right Relationships Require: Humility

Just over ten years into my marriage I finally decided to begin praying regularly over my relationship.  So I started writing my prayers for my husband first.  I thought about how hard it was for him to say, “I am sorry” or “you are right” – so I wrote the word “HUMILITY” to pray over my husband.  Immediately, God convicted my heart that I also needed a humble heart toward my husband and my marriage.  So I wrote the word again, this time next to my name.

Over the course of a year of praying for humility for each of us, I noticed a significant change in our relationship.  Our conversations were not so snippy.  Topics we once couldn’t talk about without an attitude or an argument, became safe territory.  In fact, we began making progress in those areas of our relationship because we could talk about them!

A little dose of humility goes a long way to break down prideful barriers in a relationship.

 

The fear of the LORD is instruction in wisdom, and humility comes before honor. Proverbs 15:33 ESV

Before destruction the heart of man is haughty, and before honour ishumility. Proverbs 18:13 KJV

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Akriti
    Aug 01, 2014 @ 18:13:15

    I really like your post 🙂

    KEEP WRITING MORE 🙂

    Reply

  2. downsideupgirl
    Aug 01, 2014 @ 18:21:22

    Thank you!

    Reply

  3. impartialme
    Aug 08, 2014 @ 00:15:37

    I love this! definitely an inspiring testimony, something that I need to start doing also for my hubby and I. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 657 other followers

