Brain Debates and Delusions – Food for Thought

Man considering himself is the great prodigy of nature. For he cannot conceive what his body is, even less what hisspirit is, and least of all how body can be united with spirit. That is the peak of his difficulty and yet is his very being. – Blaise Pascal

colorful brain clipart

The brain has been deliberated for hundreds of years. The physician Alkmeon of Kroton proposed that sensory information such as sight and sound were more earthly and occupied distinct brain areas.  Thoughts, however were spiritual in his book, so he decided they were part of the soul, and therefore, unable to locate in the physical body.

Plato said that the brain was supreme among the organs of the body, but thought that the lower, rounded part of the brain (medulla) was where God planted and enclosed the soul.

Aristotle thought the heart was the place to find the human soul and the brain was merely a type of radiator or “kettle” that either warmed or cooled the blood.

Today brain research is unravelling the mysteries of the brain.  Just thirty years ago we were able to first ‘see’ the way nerve cells communicated with each other. This is very fascinating to brain geeks, like me! In fact, I have a video tape of one of the very first brain cells captured electronically – yes on VHS. And thank you, Tony Buzan, for sharing it with me!].

I have tossed about food for your brain to ponder.  I challenge you to consider what you think and what you know about your brain and your soul.  Now, I challenge you to dig deeper.  Always seek the Word of God, in conjunction, with trusted research.  Anything that outright contradicts the Bible is false.  Trust me, the more you search scripture the more you will see the great depths of wisdom revealed about the science of our brains.  A few starting points for you: the work of Neuroscientist Dr. Caroline Leaf and the book used for this post: Blame It on the Brain? by Edward T. Welch.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lizzy
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 22:34:06

    Many scholars through the ages have debated the metaphysical question as to where the soul truly resides. Yet, I think so many people feel in some sense that the soul is in the brain. I have been thinking the same thoughts as of late, also. I am facing the possibility of a brain tumor and if so will a surgical resection cause me to “lose” my soul to some degree. By this I mean will I forget about God? Will I still understand His presence in my life? Will I still know the great and wonderful sacrifice Jesus made on that cross??? Scary to say the least. However, despite all that, I believe Jesus will always place the awareness of His love for me in every cell of my body. So why do I sometimes get scared I will never know Him should worse come to worse…

    Reply

    • kimkcsonshine
      Apr 24, 2015 @ 22:41:19

      Dear Lizzy, I am praying for your situation. I met a wonderful young woman last weekend: Jen Barrick. She had a horrific accident about 8 years ago; her brain was crushed; she awoke from her comma praising God and quoting scripture. You will be so encouraged by her story, check out http://www.HopeOutLoud.com

      Reply

  2. Lizzy
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 22:48:52

    Thank you! I will check out Jen’s story. God bless you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 656 other followers

